TU Graz/ Studying and Teaching/ Teaching at TU Graz/

Prize for Excellence in Teaching

For the students of TU Graz, excellent teaching is the basis of a successful future. TU Graz honours outstanding teachers annually with the Prize for Excellence in Teaching (in German: Preis für exzellente Lehre).

The prize is awarded to a maximum of three teachers who demonstrate an outstanding level of commitment, an excellent didactic concept and above all who succeed in motivating their students.

The prizewinners are awarded prize money of € 2000 each and are also nominated for the Ars docendi National Prize for Excellence in Teaching at Public Universities (in German: Ars docendi - Staatspreis für exzellente Lehre an öffentlichen Universitäten).

At present TU Graz itself, the Arbeiterkammer Steiermark (Styrian Chamber of Labour) and the Styrian Federation of Industry each sponsor one prize. In addition to these, the graduates of TU Graz regularly sponsor prizes through their association alumniTUGraz 1887.

The prizewinners


Administration team for the Prize for Excellence in Teaching

Manuela BERNER
Phone: +43 316 873 6004

Anna-Maria HENÖGL
Phone: +43 316 873 6067

Phone: +43 316 873 8553

Phone: +43 316 873 8548


Data protection regulation (in German)


Courses given by both internal and external teachers at TU Graz can be nominated for the prize. Students who have attended the course, deans of studies and student representatives of TU Graz can nominate teachers.


A committee chooses the winners based on didactic concepts, course descriptions, practical implementation of the didactic concept, results of the course evaluation and examination results. The membership of the jury is as follows:
  • The Vice-Rector for Academic Affairs (chair)
  • The chairperson of the curricular commission for Bachelor’s, Master’s and Diplom studies
  • A representative from the group of the university lecturers and researchers in the TU Graz Senate
  • Two representatives of the Students’ Union
  • Two external experts in the field of third-level education
  • The chairperson of the graduates’ association alumniTUGraz 1887

Video: Prize for Excellence in Teaching (in German)

November 2018

Further Information

The Prizewinners

Academic year 2021/22

Read about the prizewinners 2021/22: TU Graz Gives Prizes to its Best Knowledge Mediators

Roland LAMMEGGER (left)
Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

Martin SCHULTZE (right)
Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Phys. Dr.rer.nat.habil

Course Experimentalphysik 1 & 2

Christina GRAF
Dipl.-Ing. BSc

Course Inverse Problems in Biomedical Engineering

Joint course with Kerstin Hammernik, Technical University of Munich

Franz TSCHUCHNIGG (left)
Assoc.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn

Andreas-Nizar GRANITZER (right)
Dipl.-Ing. Dipl.-Ing. BSc

Course Computational Geotechnics

Academic year 2019/20

Read about the prizewinners 2019/20: Passing on knowledge: TU Graz awards prizes for outstanding teaching

Melina AMOR
PhD Lic.

Special Prize for Young Teachers
Course "Molecular Diagnostics"

Dipl.-Ing. BSc BSc

Special Prize for Young Teachers
Course "Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering"

In addition, first Ars Docendi Award winner of TU Graz - AirCampus interview

Michael FUCHS
Dipl.-Ing. BSc

Special Prize for Digital Teaching
Course "Electronic Circuit Design 2"

Mag.phil. Dr.phil.

Prize for Excellence in Teaching
Course "Spanish for Engineers (elementary 2)"

Univ.-Prof.i.R. Dr.iur.

Prize for Excellence in Teaching
Course "Patent Law"

Assoc.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

Prize for Excellence in Teaching
Course "Food Chemistry and Technology"

Benedikt WEGER
Dipl.-Ing. BSc

Special Prize for Young Teachers
Course "Continuum Mechanics"

Carlo Alberto BOANO
Ass.Prof. Dott. Dott. mag. Dr.techn. MSc

Prize for young teachers
Course Embedded Internet

Daniel GRUSS
Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn. BSc

Prize for young teachers
Course Betriebssysteme

Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

Course Advanced Engineering Geodesy

Patrick WURM
Dipl.-Ing. BSc

Prize for young teachers
Course Festigkeitslehre

Academic year 2015/16

Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.rer.nat.

Course Organische Chemie

Martin HORN
Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

Courses Control Systems 1, Control Systems 2 and Systemtechnik 

Ao.Univ.-Prof. Dr.phil.

Course Mineralische Rohstoffkunde

Ass.Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr.techn.

Prize for young teachers, course Pharmazeutisches Engineering: Wirkstoffe und Prozesse

Academic year 2013/14

Course Vektoranalysis

Course Logik und Berechenbarkeit

Course Numerische Mathematik 3

Course Physik für ChemikerInnen

Prize for young teachers, course Statik und Festigkeitslehre VT

Summer semester 2011

Course Applikationssoftware und Programmierung

Course Elektrodynamik 1