Zum Hauptinhalt springen
TU Graz/ TU Graz/

University Council of TU Graz

Members of the University Council

Elected by the Senate of TU Graz:      

  • Christa Neuper, Chair
  • Mariana Karepova, Vice Chair
    Resigned 10.04.2024
  • Barbara Steiner

Appointed by the Federal Government:      

  • Ulrike Farnik
  • Philipp Gady
  • Michael Stampfer

Elected by the above members:

  • Georg List, Vice Chair since 25.04.2024

The University Council from 2023 to 2028: from left: Barbara Steiner, Ulrike Farnik, Mariana Karepova, Philipp Gady, Christa Neuper, Georg List, Michael Stampfer


University Council's Office
Rechbauerstraße 12/I 
8010 Graz, Austria

Phone: +43 316 873 4065


Function Period 2023 to 2028

The term of office is five years, starting with 1 March 2023 and ending with 28 February 2028.


The tasks of the University Council are set out in the Universities Act 2002 (Universitätsgesetzes 2002), § 21.


Christa NEUPER,

Christa Neuper is a neuropsychologist and has established and advanced the research field of brain computer interfaces in close cooperation between the University of Graz and TU Graz. From 2006 to 2011, she headed the Institute of Knowledge Discovery at TU Graz, and from 2009 to 2011 the Institute of Psychology at the University of Graz. From October 2011 to September 2019, she held the office of Rector at the University of Graz.


Vice Chair, resigned 10.04.2024

Mariana Karepova studied economics at Vienna and furthered her education in innovation management at MIT. She is vice-chair of Platform Industry 4.0 Austria, a member of supervisory bodies in the innovation and education sectors and a member of the Administrative Council of the European Patent Office. She looks back on a 20-year career in research and technology promotion, which has led her to become the first female president in the now almost 125-year history of the Austrian Patent Office.


Barbara Steiner is an art historian and has held leading positions in various exhibition houses in Germany. From 2016 to 2021 she directed Kunsthaus Graz, and at the beginning of 2022 she took over as director of Bauhaus Dessau Foundation. Barbara Steiner has also gained diverse experience in academic teaching. From 2015 to 2017, she was a substitute professor at the Academy of Fine Arts Leipzig and has also taught in Linz, Braunschweig, Copenhagen and Vienna.


Ulrike Farnik is an authorised signatory and head of department at Schieneninfrastruktur-Dienstleistungsgesellschaft mbH and managing director of Tharros Business Consulting and Executive Coaching. She studied history, political science and communication at Vienna and general management at St. Gallen and has Master’s degrees in human resources and organisational development as well as coaching and supervision. She has had many years of management experience in corporate communications and human resources, has been a press spokesperson and senior consultant in an international management consultancy and is a lecturer in the railway management course at St. Pölten University of Applied Sciences.

Philipp GADY

Philipp Gady studied law and joined the Styrian Gady Group at the age of 23. in 2009 he took over the management of the company, and in 2015 he became the sole managing partner of all the companies. The portfolio of the Gady Group includes car dealerships, agricultural machinery trade and Schlosskeller Südsteiermark. As of 2015, Philipp Gady has been deputy chair of the Trade Division in the Styrian Chamber of Commerce, and in 2020 he will be appointed vice president of the Austrian Chamber of Commerce.


Michael Stampfer is a graduate of the Faculty of Law at the University of Vienna and has many years of experience in the field of Austrian and international research and technology policy. From 1992 to 1998 he worked at the Ministry of Science, and until 2002 at Technologie Impulse Gesellschaft (TIG), now FFG. Since 2002, Stampfer has been managing director of the Vienna Science and Technology Fund (WWTF), which supports cutting-edge research through strictly juried international calls for project and individual funding.

Georg LIST,
Vice chair 25.04.2024

At AVL List GmbH, Georg List is responsible for the development of corporate strategy in three business units as well as for the group’s M&A activities. List studied mechanical engineering at ETH Zurich and has an MBA from the Wharton School of the University of Pennsylvania. Before joining AVL, Georg List was a partner at Booz & Company (formerly Booz Allen Hamilton) specialising in innovation management in the automotive, aerospace and renewable energy sectors.