Herbert Eichholzer Awards 2011

The Herbert Eichholzer Awards for architecture students at Graz University of Technology, awarded every two years on behalf of the Cultural Office of the City of Graz, was conceived and organized in 2011 by the Institute for Architectural Theory, Art and Cultural Studies. The specific theme of this year's competition was "Architecture of the Study of Architecture ... if I could design it myself ...".

With this theme, the participating students were asked to reflect on how they would like to study architecture and how their idea of studying could be spatially conceptualized in the days of ongoing university reforms and massive restructuring of curricula.

Award Winners

2nd Prize
Andreas Draxl
Stefan Jos | Christian Buresch | Alexander Gebetsroither

3rd Prize
Toni Levak, René Märzendorfer | Christian Repnik | Reinhold Weinberger


Opening of the Competition Exhibition
January 11, 2012 in Haus der Architektur Graz

Two weeks long starting January 11, 2012 in Haus der Architektur Graz, with all short-listed projects


From fourteen submissions, the jury recommended three projects for the awarding of the prize money totaling 6,600 euros.


Heidrun Primas | Forum Stadtpark Graz

Andrea Redi | Graz University of Technology

Andreas Rumpfhuber | Technische Universität Wien

Antje Senarclens de Grancy | Technische Universität Wien

Anselm Wagner | Graz University of Technology

Organisation and Realisation

akk | Institute of Architectural Theory, History of Art and Cultural Studies
Technikerstraße 4/3.OG
8010 Graz
Tel: +43 (316) 873-6276