Austria, officially the Republic of Austria, is a federal republic and a landlocked country of roughly 8.47 million people in Central Europe. It is bordered by the Czech Republic and Germany to the north, Hungary and Slovakia to the east, Slovenia and Italy to the south, and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west. The majority of the population speak local Bavarian dialects of German as their native language, and German in its standard form is the country‘s official language. Other local official languages are Hungarian, Burgenland Croatian, and Slovene.


Passport and visa

Citizens of the European Union Countries and several other countries do not need a visa for entering Austria.
Detailed information about the passport and visa requirements can be found here (click here
). This info is from the Ministry for Foreign Affairs of Austria.

Letter of invitation

On request the Conference Office will provide a personal invitation to participate in the conference. Such an invitation is only meant to help the invited participants obtaining a visa. It does not represent any commitment on the part of the organisers to provide any financial support.



Please check the validity of your own insurance. The Conference organisers cannot accept liability for personal injuries sustained or loss of, or damage to, property belonging to delegates or the registered accompanying persons during the Conference.

Local time

The time in Austria is 1 hour ahead of Greenwich Mean Time (GMT). See world times.


The currency of Austria is the Euro. All major credit cards are widely accepted in Austria.


Electricity in Austria is 230 Volts (50Hz). Plugs and sockets are the same as in the continental countries of the EU. In case your equipment requires different voltage or plugs, please bring an adapter.

To top