Medical Image Processing Group

Medical Image Processing is a work-group doing research in computer vision, image analysis and machine learning algorithms with a focus on clinical medical applications involving the development of segmentation, registration and anatomical landmark localization algorithms. Recently, with the close collaboration with the Ludwig Boltzmann Institute for Clinical Forensic Imaging in Graz, a lot of interest has additionally been put into forensic applications, e.g. forensic age estimation and presentation of forensic evidence from CT/MRI in court. Formerly the work on ICG was also dedicated to biometrics related applications where we contributed to facial image processing, facial pose estimation, and fingerprint analysis.

If you are a student, who is interested in joining our research team, e.g. for a bachelor thesis, master project or master's thesis, please have a look at our page with Student Opportunities.

Teaching: The Medical Imaging & Biometrics work-group is responsible for teaching the master level course Medical Image Analysis VO+KU, which is currently done by Darko Štern

Research Topics/Projects: Our main research interests can be found in more detail here.


Darko Štern, work-group leader

Office: Plüddemanngasse 106 

Research interests: medical image analysis, machine learning

Franz Thaler, PhD candidate

Office: Plüddemanngasse 106

Research interests: active learning, deep learning

External Members

Martin Urschler, former work-group lead, now Univ. of Auckland, NZ

Research interests: medical computer vision, forensic image analysis

Christian Payer, PostDoc

Office: Plüddemanngasse 106

Research interests: medical image analysis, deep learning

Current Associated Members, Students and Interns


  • Klemens Kasseroller, MSc (2021)
  • Maximilian Sackl, MSc (2020)
  • Stefan Eggenreich, MSc (2020)
  • Alina Dima, MSc, intern (2019)
  • Nikolaus Jaufer, MSc (2019)
  • Saban Öztürk, PhD, intern (2019)
  • Kartik Teotia, BSc, intern (2019)
  • Daria Zotova, MSc, intern (2018)
  • Thomas Neff, MSc (2018)
  • Philipp Kainz, PhD (2016)
  • Kerstin Hammernik, MSc (2015)
  • Thomas Ebner, MSc (2015)
  • Walter Unterpirker, MSc (2015)
  • Fabian Schenk, MSc (2014)
  • Alexander Bornik, PhD (2014)
  • Michael Helmberger MSc (2013)
  • Marc Steiner, MSc (2013)
  • Markus Storer, PhD (2011)
  • Johannes Höller, MSc (2011)
  • Surinder Ram, PhD (2010)
  • Matjaz Divjak, PhD (2009)
  • Christian Bauer, PhD (2009)
  • Matthias Straka, MSc (2009)
  • Sasa Grbic, MSc (2008)
  • Martin Hirzer, MSc (2008)
  • Paul Urthaler, MSc (2008)
  • Stefan Kluckner, MSc (2006)
  • Reinhard Beichel, PhD (2006)