Wilkening group @ ICTM in 2016; (c) Lunghammer - TU Graz

Solid-State Physical Chemistry and Energy Science

The Wilkening group focusses on the characterization and development of new materials for modern energy storage systems. Emphasis is put on spectroscopic studies to shed light on micro- as well as macroscopic transport processes in crystalline as well as amorphous solids. In particular, we use solid state nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) and conductivity spectroscopy to investigate short- as well as long-range ion dynamics in crystalline, nanocrystalline and amosphous solids. See www.lithium.tugraz.at for further information.

Two Habilitands are working in the Wilkening group. While Ilie Hanzu focusses on nanostructred materials for energy storage, Daniel Rettenwander puts emphasis on ceramic electrolytes and interfacial properties

About MW: Martin Wilkening (Head of the Institute, member of the Senate) studied chemistry at the University of Hannover, where he completed his Ph.D. Thesis (summa cum laude, 2005) on "Ultraslow ionic motions in solids - NMR studies on lithium-ion conductors" under the supervision of Prof. Dr. Paul Heitjans. Subsequently, he was employed as a scientific co-worker in the Heitjans group and from 2008 as "Akademischer Rat a. Z.". In June 2011 he submitted his habilitation thesis to obtain the venia legendi in physical chemistry. Shortly thereafter he accepted a full professorship at the Graz University of Technology (Austria) and received the venia docendi in solid state chemistry. In 2012 the Christian Doppler Laboratory for Battery Research was founded.

Awards: Over the course of his doctoral and postdoctoral studies MW has been awarded several honors, such as the "Starck-Promotionspreis" of the German Chemical Society (GDCh, 2006), Wissenschaftspreis Hannover (2006), a research grant in the frame of "Wege in die Forschung II" of the Leibniz University Hannover (2009) and the "ADUC-Jahrespreis 2009 für Habilitanden" of the GDCh (2010).

Research interests in keywords

energy/battery materials, ion dynamics, solid state diffusion,  lithium ion conductors , fluorine  ion conductors, amorphous and nanocrystalline solids, glasses, insertion materials, NMR spectroscopy (relaxation, stimulated echo correlation spectroscopy (SAE)), impedance/conductivity spectroscopy, solid state electrochemistry, mechanochemistry, non-equilibrium phases

Current projects

CD-Labor: Christian Doppler-Labor für Lithium-Batterien
Alterungseffekte, Technologie und Neue Materialien

DFG research unit 1277: Mobilität von Lithium-Ionen in Festkörpern (molife)
Project 1: Niederdimensionale Lithium-Ionenleiter
Project 7: Lithium-Diffusion in Nanoröhren

DFG SPP 1415: Kristalline Nichtgleichgewichtsphasen
Project: Mechanochemistry of non-equilibrium oxide and fluoride phases

Research Studio Austria: Advanced and Innovative Materials for Electrochemical Energy Storage (AIMS)

K-Project (FFG): safe batteries, solid electrolytes and all-solid-state batteries

IMAGE (EU, H2020): Realization of solid-state batteries; together with AVL. 

Current group members

Administration: Renate Trebizan (renate.trebizan@tugraz.at)

Assistants, Seniors:

Dr. Ilie Hanzu (maître-assistant, Habilitand)
Dr. Daniel Rettenwander (Habilitand)
Dr. Alexandra Wilkening (Senior Assistant)

PhD candidates/PostDocs: 

Dr. Patrick Posch
Dr. Sarah Lunghammer
Bernhard Gadermaier
Martin Phillip
Roman Zettl (co-shared with Ilie Hanzu)
Marina Brinek
Caroline Hiebl
Maria Gombotz
Lukas Ladenstein (co-shared with D. Rettenwander)
Katharina Hogrefe

Diploma students: 

Astrid Kiesl
Isabella Diem
Andrea Schöffmann
Andreas Kügerl
Verena Reisecker
Florian Flatscher

Technicians and Co-workers:

Veronika Pregartner
Mathilde Frießnegg
Christina Albering
Birgit Ehmann
Lukas Troi (mechanical workshop)
Margareta Maierhofer
Angela Hampl
Rosina Kerschbaumer

see also staff of the institute

alumni [current affiliation]:

Dr. Bernhard Stanje [EPCOS, TDK]
Dr. Florian Preishuber-Pflügl [Schunk Hoffmann Carbon Technol.]
Dr. Walter Schmidt [Samsung]
Dr. Patrick Bottke [Uni Oldenburg]
Dr. Viktor Epp
Dr. Andreas Dunst [Magnifin]
Dr. Dominik Wohlmuth [VoestAlpine]
Dr. Julia Langer [Samsung]
Dr. Harald Brandstätter
Dr. Rafael Janski [Infineon]
Dr. Marlena Volck (Uitz) [AVL]
Dr. Stefan Breuer [EPCOS TDK]
Dr. Denise Tapler (Prutsch) [AVL]
Dr. Lukas Schafzahl 
Dr. Isabel Hanghofer [AVL]

For more information, please visit the website of the group: www.lithium.tugraz.at 

(c) Lunghammer 2019
Contact Information

Institute for Chemistry and Technology of Materials
Institut für Chemische Technologie von Materialien

Stremayrgasse 9
A-8010 Graz - Austria

for initial contact:
Renate Trebizan, +43 316 873-32301

Click here to access google-maps.