Mathematics

Mathematics

The department of mathematics covers a wide spectrum of research topics in pure and applied mathematics. The focus lies on Analysis, Number Theory, Discrete Mathematics, Geometry, Computational Mathematics, Statistics, Optimization, Financial and Actuarial Mathematics. The department is responsible for various teaching duties for bachelor and master programs in other faculties as well as for the bachelor and master program in mathematics in a cooperation (NAWI Graz) with Karl-Franzens-University. This cooperation also creates intensive joint research activities of both universities in the fields of Discrete Mathematics and Applied Mathematics.

more...
Physics

Physics

Research of the physics institutes covers fundamental topics of solid state and surface physics both in experiment and theory, atomic, molecular, and optical (AMO) physics, materials physics, and developments of computational methods. The Institute of Electron Microscopy and Nanoanalysis with its high resolution instruments plays an important role as Austrian Center for researchers in all areas of science and engineering. Besides the education of physics students in bachelor and master programs, an interdisciplinary advanced materials master study is offered. The physics department also provides the physics courses for students in other science and engineering areas. Both teaching and research are conducted in close cooperation with Karl-Franzens-University as part of the NAWI Graz initiative.

more...
Geodesy

Geodesy

Besides mathematical and physical fundamentals, geodesy at TU Graz deals with topics like engineering geodesy, navigation, remote sensing, photogrammetry, geoinformation, and satellite geodesy.
Against the background of an international research network, the geodetic institutes deal with monitoring of civil engineering structures, sensor development and calibration, satellite-based and airborne methods and applications, analysis of spatial data, location-based services, environmental monitoring, and Earth system modelling.
Teaching takes place in the course of the curriculum (bachelor and master) of “Surveying and Geoinformation” as well as the NAWI curricula of “Geospatial Technologies” and “Space Sciences and Earth from Space”.

more...

Pictures © IEP/TU Graz

Mathematik

Mathematik

Der Fachbereich Mathematik widmet sich in der Forschung einem breiten Spektrum von Themen aus der reinen und angewandten Mathematik. Forschungsschwerpunkte sind etwa Analysis, Zahlentheorie, Diskrete Mathematik,  Geometrie, Numerische Mathematik, Statistik, Optimierung, Finanz- und Versicherungsmathematik. In der Lehre erfüllt  dieser Fachbereich umfangreiche Serviceaufgaben für andere Studienrichtungen und Fakultäten sowie in der Betreuung des Bachelor- und Masterstudiums Mathematik im Rahmen einer Kooperation (NAWI Graz) mit der Karl-Franzens-Universität. Diese Kooperation ist auch sichtbar in intensiven, gemeinsamen Forschungsaktivitäten beider Universitäten in den Bereichen der Diskreten Mathematik und der Angewandten Mathematik

mehr...
Physik

Physik

Die Forschungsaktivitäten des Fachbereichs Physik umfassen grundlegende Themen der Festkörper- und Oberflächenphysik in Experiment und Theorie, der Entwicklung computerbasierter Rechenmethoden, der Physik der Atome, Moleküle und Optik und der Materialphysik. Eine wichtige fachübergreifende Rolle kommt dem Institut für Elektronenmikroskopie und Nanoanalytik zu, das mit seinen hochauflösenden Instrumenten von überregionaler Bedeutung ist. Neben der Ausbildung in Physik Bachelor- und Masterstudiengängen sowie dem interdisziplinären Studium Advanced Materials Science erfüllt der Fachbereich umfangreiche Lehraufgaben für andere Studienrichtungen und Fakultäten. In Forschung und Lehre findet eine intensive Kooperation mit der Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz im Rahmen von NAWI Graz statt.

mehr...
Geodäsie

Geodäsie

Der Fachbereich Geodäsie an der TU Graz beschäftigt sich neben mathematischen und physikalischen Grundlagen mit Themen der Ingenieurgeodäsie, der Navigation, der Fernerkundung, Photogrammetrie, Geoinformation und Satellitengeodäsie.
Die international stark vernetzte Forschung deckt die Bereiche Bauwerksüberwachung, Sensorentwicklung und Kalibrierung, satelliten- und flugzeuggestützte Methoden und Anwendungen, Analyse raumbezogener Daten, Location-based Services, Umweltmonitoring und Erdsystemmodellierung ab.
Die Lehrtätigkeit des Fachbereichs bezieht sich auf die Studienrichtung Vermessung und Geoinformation, sowie die beiden NAWI Masterstudiengänge Geospatial Technologies und Space Sciences and Earth from Space.

mehr...

Bilder © IEP/TU Graz